Mr Thring joined the ACDP in 1995 after being invited to an ACDP meeting at the Mariannridge Community Hall. He was then elected to the position of Deputy Chairman in KZN and subsequently to the position of Chairman in 1997, a position he held for over 10 years. He was later elected to the position on Provincial Leader and is currently the ACDP’s Deputy President. Mr Thring represented the ACDP in the eThekwini Metro as Councillor between 2000 and 2013. There, he held the position of ACDP Whip and Caucus Leader, and was a member of the Economic and Development Committee. He was one of the longest-serving Councillors on that committee (over 11 years). In June 2013, Mr Thring became a Member of the National Assembly. He holds the position of ACDP Parliamentary Leader and his Portfolio Committees include Economic Development and Trade and Industry.