Steve Swart MP

Mr Swart is an African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP) Member, originally from Fish Hoek, Cape Town. He studied for his BA and LLB degrees at the University of Stellenbosch and was then admitted as an attorney, practising that profession for about 15 years before being elected to Parliament in 1999.

Whilst at Parliament, he obtained his B.Econ (Hons) degree through University of the Western Cape. This assists him in his work in the Finance Committee, which deals with the national budget, global and domestic economic growth figures and similar issues. One of the longest-serving Members on the Portfolio Committee on Justice and Constitutional Development, he also served on the Joint Constitutional Review Committee, the Standing Committee on Finance and the Portfolio Committees on Home Affairs, Transport, and Environmental Affairs and Tourism.

Mr Swart was one of the drafters of the Western Cape Provincial Constitution, and was one of the attorneys representing Parliament (then sitting as the Constitutional Assembly) during the certification proceedings in the Constitutional Court for the Final Constitution.

Committees:  PC for Justice and Correctional Services, PC for Public Enterprises, SC for Finance (Alt)

Parliamentary Office:

Secretary: Audra Bouwer

Telephone: 021 4033521


Parliamentary Address: Offices 29-31, 8th Floor, 90 Plein Street Building, Parliament, 120 Plein Street, Cape Town, 8001

Postal Address: ACDP, P O Box 15, Cape Town, 8000

Constituency Office:

Free State
Address: Shop 40, Veresa Building, Botshabelo, 9781
Telephone: 051 5344499
Mobile: 0733992517